SUBSCRIBE
Show Offscreen Content

Let's Stay in Touch

Once monthly in your inbox. Writing advice you'll actually use, reading suggestions, plus personal updates I only share with my list.

RELEASING ON MARCH 26TH

Wishful Thinking

How I Lost My Faith and Why I Want to Find It

This heart-wrenching, unflinchingly honest memoir follows a woman’s search to reclaim her lost faith, against all odds—perfect for fans of Lauren Winner and Kate Bowler.

Donna Freitas wants to believe. Raised Catholic, she sang songs about Jesus as a child and lived in a house where nuns and priests were regular guests, yet she found herself questioning the faith of her family, examining the reasons none of it added up, and distancing herself from the God of Christianity.

Despite her questions—or perhaps because of them—she made a career out of trying to understand God, pursuing a Ph.D. in religion. But even as she taught college students about mystics, theologians, and others who wrestled with God, she was never able to embrace a faith of her own.

In this searingly-honest and deeply personal book, Freitas retraces her roundabout path up and out of the wilderness toward hope, and her dogged—and ongoing—search for faith. She talks about her experience with the Catholic abuse scandal; about being embraced as a speaker at evangelical colleges; about how the death of her mother and the loss of her marriage made her question everything she thought she knew about love; how she cannot reconcile the ways the concept of God makes absolutely no sense; and how she cannot stop trying to believe, despite it all.

Real, raw, and beautifully-written, Wishful Thinking is a powerful story about the author’s search for belief in God, and of finding God in the most unexpected places.

RELEASING ON JULY 23RD

Stefi and the Spanish Prince

Fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and Emily in Paris will swoon for this steamy, outrageously fun royal romance set against the backdrop of beautiful Barcelona.

In Barcelona, the beach is beautiful, the tapas are delicious, and the boys are plentiful. Good thing, too, because Stefi’s nursing a broken heart after a disastrous breakup and is excited to reinvent herself, practice her Catalan language skills, and take baking classes at the legendary culinary institute, all in a magical city where no one knows her.

Another thing Barcelona has? A secret prince. Xavi Borges is spending his final summer of anonymity helping his mother run a popular tapas spot in El Mercado. But after Stefi stops at their counter, Xavi can’t get the beautiful American girl off his mind, even though his life is way too complicated for romance.

Part bodyguard, part confidante, Santiago is tasked with keeping Xavi out of trouble. Santiago knows Xavi and Stefi’s budding relationship can’t last once Xavi’s real identity becomes public. But soon Santiago is crushing on Xavi’s best friend, Diego, and his focus shifts from royal protection duties to the possibility of enjoying a romance of his own.

With so many sparks flying, a threat to expose Xavi’s royal secret goes unheeded, and when the news blows up, it threatens to burn down all of their lives.

MY WORK

BOOKS

Fiction, Non-Fiction, Memoir, Young Adult, and Middle Grade.
Take a peek inside my world.

FICTION

My fiction debut. A novel about a woman who thought she never wanted to be a mother—and the many ways that life can surprise us.

MEMOIR

My account of being stalked by a professor for over two years, using my experience to examine the ways in which we stigmatize, debate, and attempt to understand consent today.

NON-FICTION

Based on research that includes candid interviews with students, my non-fiction books focus on some of the biggest challenges that college students face today.

YOUNG ADULT
& MIDDLE GRADE

My novels for young readers are about (and for!) smart, brave young adults and kids who are using their extraordinary gifts to change the world.

hello

I'm Donna

Writer. Professor. Scholar. Speaker. Author of Fiction, Nonfiction, Young Adult and Middle Grade novels. Those are my titles. But what I’d really like to tell you is that I write with urgency: to give my protagonists all the experience and knowledge that I wished I had but didn’t. To work through grief and loss and rage toward a place of hope and possibility, to speak the unspeakable. My scholarship is decidedly feminist and practical: What are the voices we most need to hear, and what do they want us to know? How can we transform our world so that it will be more just, more inclusive, less violent? In my non-fiction work, I document the concerns of the people I interview: what conversations do people desperately need to have? What are they searching for that we’re ignoring? This urgency and hope, for you, for myself, and for our shared world—this is what fuels my writing, no matter who my audience is.

hello

I'm Donna

Writer. Professor. Scholar. Speaker. Author of Fiction, Nonfiction, Young Adult and Middle Grade novels. Those are my titles. But what I’d really like to tell you is that I write with urgency: to give my protagonists all the experience and knowledge that I wished I had but didn’t. To work through grief and loss and rage toward a place of hope and possibility, to speak the unspeakable. My scholarship is decidedly feminist and practical: What are the voices we most need to hear, and what do they want us to know? How can we transform our world so that it will be more just, more inclusive, less violent? In my non-fiction work, I document the concerns of the people I interview: what conversations do people desperately need to have? What are they searching for that we’re ignoring? This urgency and hope, for you, for myself, and for our shared world—this is what fuels my writing, no matter who my audience is.

I'm Donna

Writer. Professor. Scholar. Speaker. Author of Fiction, Nonfiction, Young Adult and Middle Grade novels. Those are my titles. But what I’d really like to tell you is that I write with urgency: to give my protagonists all the experience and knowledge that I wished I had but didn’t. To work through grief and loss and rage toward a place of hope and possibility, to speak the unspeakable. My scholarship is decidedly feminist and practical: What are the voices we most need to hear, and what do they want us to know? How can we transform our world so that it will be more just, more inclusive, less violent? In my non-fiction work, I document the concerns of the people I interview: what conversations do people desperately need to have? What are they searching for that we’re ignoring? This urgency and hope, for you, for myself, and for our shared world—this is what fuels my writing, no matter who my audience is.

WRITING COACHING

Meet the Book Doctor

If you’ve been telling yourself you’ll finish that book “someday,” whether it’s fiction or nonfiction, a memoir or even a dissertation, I’m here to tell you…someday is here.

write like your life depends on it

If you need something from the story you are telling, then it will have natural momentum and tension. Readers won’t be able to put it down.

But how do you write from that place of need? How do you feel a sense of primal urgency at 5:00am on a Wednesday when you’ve only got an hour before your kids wake up? Or at 11:00pm when the day’s demands have left you wrung out and even making a cup of tea feels like too much?

And once you finally manage to finish a draft, how do you rewrite and polish it until your intention shines through with clarity? How on earth do you get it published?! I’ve been right where you’re standing, and I’ll help you answer all these questions and the questions you don’t even know to ask yet.

SUBSCRIBE TO MY SUBSTACK

The Plot Doctor

I’m the “Plot Doctor” because I love helping people fix their books when they are struggling, to diagnosing just what a manuscript or plot needs in order for it to work. I write for a living and this is a place to share what that’s like with you, to reflect on how a writer makes her living (or at least, how this one does) and the pros and cons of writing as a profession. I teach writing, and I care deeply about writing in community. I’m lucky to have found wonderful writing community in my own life, and I’m excited to foster it here. If you haven’t subscribed yet, I hope you’ll join me.

Writing Tips You'll Actually Use

Even if you’re “not a writer.” Once a month in your inbox. Personal letters with my very best advice on how to get your writing out of your head and onto the page. And my most recent, favorite reads to inspire you along the way.

Writing Tips You'll Actually Use

Even if you’re “not a writer.” Once a month in your inbox. Personal letters with my very best advice on how to get your writing out of your head and onto the page. And my most recent, favorite reads to inspire you along the way.

Writing Tips You'll Actually Use

Even if you’re “not a writer.” Once a month in your inbox. Personal letters with my very best advice on how to get your writing out of your head and onto the page. And my most recent, favorite reads to inspire you along the way.

This website uses cookies for analytical purposes. By choosing to continue, I’ll understand you agree with privacy policy + cookies policy